Recognizing those who go above and beyond for the Bennington community

generosity is about more than money

We strongly believe in the notion of giving back to one's community. But we also know that generosity is not always about monetary donations. That's why we take the time to recognize those who give their time and talent to improve the place we're so proud to call home.


Each fall, we solicit nominations for three awards highlighting those who exhibit generosity. Selections are made by a committee of Bennington Community Foundation board members, and awards are presented to recipients at a community event.


of the year

Each year we recognize an individual who has made outstanding contributions to the Bennington community within the past 12 months. 



Periodically we honor a community leader who has made significant contributions to Bennington over his or her lifetime. 



On occasion we celebrate a member of the community who, although no longer with us, dedicated much of his or her life to the betterment of the Bennington. 


Award Recipients

Zac Johns

Volunteer of the year

Zac is the owner of Runza, a Bennington City Council Member, and President of the Bennington Chamber of Commerce. As a founding volunteer of the Chamber, Zac has recruited businesses to join and lead many community events, such as the “Picnic in the Park” during Bennington Daze. In 2016, Zac won the city council election for Ward 2. He has done a great job of serving the community by listening to people’s concerns and sticking to his word. Zac's entrepreneurial spirit makes Bennington a strong place for businesses to thrive, and the citizens of Bennington have greatly benefited from Zac’s leadership.

Bill Bohn

Lifetime achievement

For over 50 years, Bill has been involved in the Bennington community. He’s built various businesses in Bennington, including Bohn Construction and the laundromat, and currently owns and leases commercial rental space on Warehouse Street to help other businesses thrive. Bill has been involved in St. John’s Lutheran Church, the Baseball Club, and the Lions Club. He served on the Bennington Village Board of Trustees for 23 years and then as Mayor of Bennington for five years. Bill’s countless hours of dedication to this community has set the bar high for future leaders.

Dave Clark

legacy award

Dave’s service to the Bennington Community was his lifetime passion; he genuinely cared about the betterment of our community and has instilled the same passion in his children. Dave was a Bennington City Council Member and Mayor of Bennington for two terms each. In his many years of service to our community, he dedicated his time to Bennington Daze, Jaycees, Lions Club, St John’s Lutheran Church, youth sports organizations, and more. Dave founded the Bennington Community Foundation and served as President for more than 12 years. Last year we lost Dave, but his legacy and passion for our community continues to thrive due to his leadership.


Volunteer of the Year

Tim Clark

Lifetime Achievement

Mike Fucsher

Legacy Award

Jim Bonge


Volunteer of the Year

Brad Baumert

Lifetime Achievement

Dave Clark


Volunteer of the Year

Kathy Faucher

Lifetime Achievement

Karen Arp

Legacy Award

Mel Valasek


Volunteer of the Year

Ingrid Geiseman


Volunteer of the Year

Maureen Proksel


Volunteer of the Year

Matt Wickham

Contact Us

PO Box 201

Bennington, NE 68007

connect with Us

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram